Meandering in Newport, Rhode Island

SHEENA RICARTE
4 min readAug 6, 2022

--

Meandering in Newport, Rhode Island (29 Photos Taken Sometime in Autumn/Winter 2005/06)

~Saturday, August 6, 2022 Blog Post~

In terms of the wealth and money theme of my blog, many rich and famous personalities also considered or considers Newport, Rhode Island their home. They include Oracle Corporation chief executive officer Larry Ellison, TV host Jay Leno, billionaire tobacco heiress and socialite Doris Duke, the capitalists Vanderbilt Family and the Astors, and Hollywood movie star Nicholas Cage (Sheena Ricarte, August 2022).

This blog post is a follow-up to my previous blog post I wrote earlier about The Breakers. I just found the time today to document my life in Newport, Rhode Island and the images here were taken sometime in late 2005 to early 2006 and I was merely 21 years young then.

During that time, it was merely one year since I graduated from De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde with the Bachelor of Arts major in Consular and Diplomatic Affairs degree, Magna cum Laude and the Outstanding Thesis accolade. The exact date of my graduation is Saturday, October 16, 2004.

Like I mentioned in my previous blog post about The Breakers, I like this Rhode Island city because it is relatively peaceful (compared to Rhode Island’s capital, Providence) and highly cultural.

In terms of the wealth and money theme of my blog, many rich and famous personalities also considered or considers (as in Larry Ellison at the time of writing this blog post) Newport their home.

They include Oracle Corporation chief executive officer Larry Ellison, TV host Jay Leno, billionaire tobacco heiress and socialite Doris Duke, the capitalists Vanderbilt Family and the Astors, and Hollywood movie star Nicholas Cage.

Anyway, below are 29 images of myself and my family in Newport, Rhode Island. These photographs were captured sometime in autumn and winter 2005 to early 2006.

As a part of Rhode Island and New England, coming to Newport and its surrounding areas (Tiverton, Middletown, Portsmouth, and Bristol) offers that dreary England vibe with the oftentimes overcast weather during the autumn and winter months.

Thus, I think it made sense to label Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Maine, Vermont, and New Hampshire as “New England.”

I don’t really have the time to detail here the famous tourist destinations in Newport, Rhode Island, which is also among the venues of well-known international sailing yacht competition, America’s Cup.

However, you can see iconic sculptures, attractions, and structures, such as The Feet and The Wave, Ocean Drive, and the Newport Cliff Walk in my pictures in this blog post.

Just click the numerous links I embedded in this article and the one about The Breakers and you’ll learn about these famous local murals and sights in this marvelous side of the United States.

I want to repeat what I said in my previous blog post about The Breakers: I would love to retire in Newport, Rhode Island eventually, perhaps somewhere near Bellevue Avenue. Haha.

Here are the 29 images of myself and my family in Newport, Rhode Island:

My Superrich and Very Proud Parents — “Richard and Regina Rich.” Haha.

--

--

SHEENA RICARTE

Freelance finance writer Sheena Ricarte's interests comprise international finance, economics, personal finance, asset protection law, & investment management.