Costly bad habit I have successfully avoided: Drinking coffee

SHEENA RICARTE
3 min readMay 25, 2022

--

I consider drinking coffee and caffeinated drinks as a costly bad habit. I have removed coffee from my grocery list since Valentine’s Day 2022. On that same day, I stopped drinking coffee just like that.

I hate getting palpitations in my heart. I also hate waking up in the middle of the night and finding it hard to go back to sleep. I surely want a recharging and uninterrupted night’s sleep.

Me at Starbucks in Newport, Rhode Island in Autumn 2010 (Image 1 of 9).

Hot and cold coffee and caffeinated drinks make me dependent on them to wash down the meals I consume and I realized that costly bad habit is unhealthy. Additionally, I read that being coffee-dependent makes this popular drink decrease the human stomach’s capacity to absorb essential nutrients.

As stimulants, coffee and caffeinated drinks may keep me awake when I have to like during daytime when I’m working. But this feature keeps my brain awake during the evening when I want it to shut down already so I can sleep.

Me at Starbucks in Newport, Rhode Island in Autumn 2010 (Image 2 of 9).

After successfully quitting coffee, I feel more relaxed. I have no anxiety problems as well or those feelings of nervousness. What I understand is anxiety is worry and young people usually have it. As a young adult, I have outgrown anxiety and gained composure.

Furthermore, after I stopped drinking coffee as a daily habit, I feel sleepy already at as early as 6PM. I like this effect since I can rest already at night and I like waking up early in the morning at as early as 4AM. With a healthy daily breakfast of oatmeal with apples and banana shavings and drinking ginger tea, I feel more energized and motivated to perform the day’s tasks.

Me with my tall Starbucks mug in 2012 (Image 3 of 9).

I think successfully quitting coffee-drinking also decreased the costs for me. Drinking coffee daily can be costly, as asserted by “The Latte Factor” author David Bach.

I used to be a Starbucks fan. I loved Starbucks’s blended drinks, chai tea latte, caramel macchiato, frappuccino, and so forth. But again, I already bid the bad and costly coffee-drinking habit farewell for good.

Me with my tall Starbucks mug in 2012 (Image 4 of 9).

As of today, Wednesday, May 25, 2022, I have fully embraced the daily habit of and I love drinking blended organic fruits and vegetables: oranges, ginger, bitter gourd, and calamondin.

I also have several bags of the Twinings English breakfast tea and pure green tea on my dining table and I’m about to finish them next week. I won’t actually buy Twinings tea again. I am just finishing the box my Daddy bought but is not drinking.

Me with my tall Starbucks mug in 2012 (Image 5 of 9).
Enjoying my Starbucks blueberry cheesecake slice and Mango yogurt, Summer 2022 (Image 6 of 9).
Enjoying my Starbucks blueberry cheesecake slice and Mango yogurt, Summer 2022 (Image 7 of 9).
Enjoying my Starbucks blueberry cheesecake slice and Mango yogurt, Summer 2022 (Image 8 of 9).
Enjoying my Starbucks blueberry cheesecake slice and Mango yogurt, Summer 2022 (Image 9 of 9).

--

--

SHEENA RICARTE

Freelance finance writer Sheena Ricarte's interests comprise international finance, economics, personal finance, asset protection law, & investment management.